meandmywonton

me and my wonton blog

DE AFGHANAN – FREMONT

leave a comment »

Next time I find myself in Fremont, THIS will be my go to place.

Despite it being 30-miles outside of my normal eating grounds, it was worth the drive, because behind this door hand-carved in Afghanistan, was one of the most deliciously satisfying meals.

Mini lessons on the nuances of authentic Afghan cuisine punctuated the exclamation arrival of each dish, but I retained very little of the free-flowing knowledge – there was just too much visual stimulation.

I also couldn’t coherently participate in conversation about the influence of the spice route on other cultures as far-reaching as Latin America and …(i blanked)….I could only think, is anyone eating that last dumpling?

This dumpling, aka Manto, aka Manti, aka Mantu, aka Delish:

Having spent a few hours seated next to an open kabob kitchen, I sat in the theater thinking “Dang girl! You SMELL good.” Actually, we ALL smelled good…like Leek & Potato Bolani, and Tikka Kabob, Chapli Kabob, and Bodinjon Borani. Not sure if our neighbors appreciated how good we smelled, but maybe they didn’t notice, being distracted by Denzel and Ryan Reynolds on the big screen and all…

Always such a lovely time with Team R&S.

DE AFGHANAN
37395 Fremont Blvd – Fremont
510.857.1009

p.s. if you just want a quick kabob to go, you can go to their little shop next door.

Leave a comment