meandmywonton

me and my wonton blog

BAR AGRICOLE

leave a comment »

Meeting new people is awesome when the temptation of Bar Agricole dangles with the invitation.

This is one of the few places that places as much emphasis on it’s non-alcoholic drinks as it does the rest of the bar program. I imagine the barman would be abhorred if anyone called it a “mocktail” or “virgin” because it implies stripping the alcohol from a drink, and that is so not the case here. There IS NO red-headed stepchild on their drink menu (alcoholic or non). Ha.

Banking on what easily will be a long night, I started light, but at least my Asian flush will be in check for at least another hour or so. Despite the nice lighting, who wants to see red-face show up so soon? Not my new friends.

The charming outdoor patio is as delightful as my new friends. I bet it’s just as magnificent during brunch.

And the squid – OMG – I want to tell everyone how good it is.  Hopefully it’ll be on the menu for a while as I have every intent to come back for it, especially since it wasn’t mine and one bite is like drugs. The fish I had under a mound of delicious Haricot Verts was amazing. But Squid, I have my eyes on you.

From the texture of dark denim napkins to the design of the dining room overseen by an ethereal glass chandelier, no detail is overlooked. Hence, a fitted leather bomber jacket and pyramid studs seem to fit the bill.

Click here for some professionally shot photos (unlike mine) of the beautiful aesthetics at Bar Agricole.

BAR AGRICOLE
www.baragricole.com
355 11th St
(415) 355-9400
I like a place where the bar hours are : 6 – 11pm thurs – sat, bar open until empty.

Written by kc ley

February 7, 2012 at 11:34 AM

Leave a comment